Salzburger Land

Tribunal
Sound and room installation at the substation

Tribunal is an installation in front of the Elixhausen substation that makes the electrical infrastructure audible and provides insight into hidden acoustic worlds. Stimulated by the controversial construction of the 380-kV line through the Flachgau, the Linz-based sound artist Clemens Mairhofer placed a grandstand in front of the substation and thus transformed the starting point of the planned route into a concert room. The electrical high-voltage lines and transformers generate strong electromagnetic fields, which with the help of special antennas become part of a composition. The audience takes a seat in the stands – the substation becomes an orchestra.


DATES

Fri, May 14 – Fri, May 21, 2021

03:00 pm – 07:00 pm

Sat, May 22

01:30 pm – 07:00 pm

Sun, May 23

12:00 pm – 07:00 pm


ARTIST:
Clemens Mairhofer (AT)

Clemens Mairhofer’s works explore the possibilities of the relational, material and artistic qualities of sound. Sound culture, hearing and subjectivity as well as acoustic imagination are recurring themes in his artistic work as well as in curatorial projects. Clemens lives and works in Linz.


RESIDENT
Familie Frauenlob, Heumilchkäserei Elixhausen


ADDRESS / LOCATION

Line 120, Elixhausen Abzw. Mödlham stop

Tribunal is an installation in front of the Elixhausen substation that makes the electrical infrastructure audible and provides insight into hidden acoustic worlds. Stimulated by the controversial construction of the 380-kV line through the Flachgau, the Linz-based sound artist Clemens Mairhofer placed a grandstand in front of the substation and thus transformed the starting point of the planned route into a concert room. The electrical high-voltage lines and transformers generate strong electromagnetic fields, which with the help of special antennas become part of a composition. The audience takes a seat in the stands – the substation becomes an orchestra.


DATES

Fri, May 14 – Fri, May 21, 2021

03:00 pm – 07:00 pm

Sat, May 22

01:30 pm – 07:00 pm

Sun, May 23

12:00 pm – 07:00 pm


ARTIST:
Clemens Mairhofer (AT)

Clemens Mairhofer’s works explore the possibilities of the relational, material and artistic qualities of sound. Sound culture, hearing and subjectivity as well as acoustic imagination are recurring themes in his artistic work as well as in curatorial projects. Clemens lives and works in Linz.


RESIDENT
Familie Frauenlob, Heumilchkäserei Elixhausen


ADDRESS / LOCATION

Line 120, Elixhausen Abzw. Mödlham stop

Tribunal
Sound and room installation at the substation

Salzburger Land

Tribunal
Sound- und Rauminstallation beim Umspannwerk

Tribunal ist eine Installation vor dem Umspannwerk Elixhausen, die elektrische Infrastruktur hörbar macht und Einblick in verborgene akustische Welten gibt. Angeregt durch die umstrittene Errichtung der 380-kV Leitung durch den Flachgau, platziert der in Linz lebende Klangkünstler Clemens Mairhofer eine Tribüne vor dem Umspannwerk und transformiert so den Ausgangspunkt der geplanten Trasse in einen Konzertraum. Die elektrischen Hochspannungsleitungen und Transformatoren erzeugen starke elektromagnetische Felder, die mit Hilfe von speziellen Antennen Teil einer Komposition werden. Das Publikum nimmt Platz auf der Tribüne – das Umspannwerk wird zum Orchester.

TERMINE:
Fr 14. – Fr, 21.05. | 15:00 – 19:00

Sa 22.05. | 13:30 – 19:00

So 23.05. | 12:00 – 19:00

Mo 24.05. | 15:00 – 19:00


ARTIST:
Clemens Mairhofer (AT)

Clemens Mairhofers Arbeiten erforschen die Möglichkeiten der relationalen, materiellen und künstlerischen Qualitäten von Klang. Klangkultur, Hören und Subjektivität sowie akustische Vorstellungskraft sind wiederkehrende Themen in seinem künstlerischen Werk sowie in kuratorischen Projekten. Clemens lebt und arbeitet in Linz.

(Hier geht zum grossen Interview mit Clemens Mairhofer)


RESIDENT
Familie Frauenlob, Heumilchkäserei Elixhausen


ADRESSE / ORT
Linie 120, Haltestelle Elixhausen Abzw. Mödlham

Austrian Power Grid AG – Umspannwerk Elixhausen
Mödlham, 5201 Seekirchen am Wallersee

Tribunal ist eine Installation vor dem Umspannwerk Elixhausen, die elektrische Infrastruktur hörbar macht und Einblick in verborgene akustische Welten gibt. Angeregt durch die umstrittene Errichtung der 380-kV Leitung durch den Flachgau, platziert der in Linz lebende Klangkünstler Clemens Mairhofer eine Tribüne vor dem Umspannwerk und transformiert so den Ausgangspunkt der geplanten Trasse in einen Konzertraum. Die elektrischen Hochspannungsleitungen und Transformatoren erzeugen starke elektromagnetische Felder, die mit Hilfe von speziellen Antennen Teil einer Komposition werden. Das Publikum nimmt Platz auf der Tribüne – das Umspannwerk wird zum Orchester.

TERMINE:
Fr 14. – Fr, 21.05. | 15:00 – 19:00

Sa 22.05. | 13:30 – 19:00

So 23.05. | 12:00 – 19:00

Mo 24.05. | 15:00 – 19:00


ARTIST:
Clemens Mairhofer (AT)

Clemens Mairhofers Arbeiten erforschen die Möglichkeiten der relationalen, materiellen und künstlerischen Qualitäten von Klang. Klangkultur, Hören und Subjektivität sowie akustische Vorstellungskraft sind wiederkehrende Themen in seinem künstlerischen Werk sowie in kuratorischen Projekten. Clemens lebt und arbeitet in Linz.

(Hier geht zum grossen Interview mit Clemens Mairhofer)


RESIDENT
Familie Frauenlob, Heumilchkäserei Elixhausen


ADRESSE / ORT
Linie 120, Haltestelle Elixhausen Abzw. Mödlham

Austrian Power Grid AG – Umspannwerk Elixhausen
Mödlham, 5201 Seekirchen am Wallersee

Tribunal
Sound- und Rauminstallation beim Umspannwerk

In Google Maps anzeigen